In honor of one of metal’s greatest legends, “Magic – A Tribute to Ronnie James Dio,” features artists and friends performing some of Ronnie James Dio’s most inspired work.

MANOWAR contributes a powerful rendition of Dio’s signature song, “Heaven And Hell.” Jack Starr’s Burning Starr and the Magic Circle All Star Band (with Shmoulik Avigal and Joe Stump) perform the classics “Catch The Rainbow” and “Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll” and his cousin and former Elf guitarist David “Rock” Feinstein delivers a song inspired and written for Dio titled “Far Beyond.” The album is rounded out by several tenacious, up-and-coming bands, such as female-fronted HolyHell, featuring the voice of Maria Breon (called by many “The Female Dio”) as well as Metalforce, Awaken and Crosswind, all of whom embrace Dio’s legacy in their own inspired interpretations of his songs on “Magic.”

In tribute to Dio’s legacy, famous fantasy painter and illustrator Ken Kelly, the man behind many of heavy metal’s most classic album covers (incl. some by MANOWAR) has reworked his iconic Rainbow “Rising” artwork for “Magic.”

“Magic – A Tribute to Ronnie James Dio” is from the hearts of these musicians. It is not only their privilege, but also their duty, to honor Ronnie by singing his praises while singing his songs.

Track Listing:
1) MANOWAR - Heaven And Hell
2) HOLYHELL - Holy Diver (Live In Norway)
3) METALFORCE - The Last In Line
4) MAGIC CIRCLE ALL STAR BAND – Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll
5) AWAKEN - I Speed At Night
6) CROSSWIND - A Light In The Black
7) DEAN CASCIONE – Never More
8) FEINSTEIN - Far Beyond
9) HARLET - Straight Through The Heart
10) JACK STARR'S BURNING STARR - Catch The Rainbow

Back to top



Release dates

Europe : June 16, 2010
USA & Canada : July 20, 2010